The Turnout

  • Books


Price: $14.99
(as of Sep 16,2021 11:41:24 UTC – Details)

A TODAY Show #ReadWithJenna Book Club Pick
 
Bestselling and award-winning author Megan Abbott’s revelatory and mesmerizing new novel set against the hothouse of a family-run ballet studio.

With their long necks and matching buns and pink tights, Dara and Marie Durant have been dancers since they can remember. Growing up, they were homeschooled and trained by their glamorous mother, founder of the Durant School of Dance. After their parents’ death in a tragic accident nearly a dozen years ago, the sisters began running the school together, along with Charlie, Dara’s husband and once their mother’s prized student.
 
Marie, warm and soft, teaches the younger students; Dara, with her precision, trains the older ones; and Charlie, sidelined from dancing after years of injuries, rules over the back office. Circling around one another, the three have perfected a dance, six days a week, that keeps the studio thriving. But when a suspicious accident occurs, just at the onset of the school’s annual performance of The Nutcracker—a season of competition, anxiety, and exhilaration—an interloper arrives and threatens the sisters’ delicate balance.

Taut and unnerving, The Turnout is Megan Abbott at the height of her game. With uncanny insight and hypnotic writing, it is a sharp and strange dissection of family ties and sexuality, femininity and power, and a tale that is both alarming and irresistible.


From the Publisher

A Today Show Book Club Pick with image of The Turnout by Megan Abbott A Today Show Book Club Pick with image of The Turnout by Megan Abbott

"A dizzyingly fascinating story... An instant classic." - Washington Post

"A dizzyingly fascinating story... An instant classic." - Washington Post

"A deliciously creepy thriller about competition and family ties." - Real Simple

"A deliciously creepy thriller about competition and family ties." - Real Simple

Fans of Black Swan and The Red Shoes are bound to be obsessed." - Refinery29

Fans of Black Swan and The Red Shoes are bound to be obsessed." - Refinery29

"Dark and juicy and tinged with horror... Megan Abbott is a mood." - The New York Times Book Review

"Dark and juicy and tinged with horror... Megan Abbott is a mood." - The New York Times Book Review

"Disquieting fictional magic." - The Boston Globe

"Disquieting fictional magic." - The Boston Globe

Dreamy, sexy, a deep dive into a subculture that has been exhaustively researched.

Dreamy, sexy, a deep dive into a subculture that has been exhaustively researched.

ASIN‏:‎B08HY34S9N
Publisher‏:‎G.P. Putnam’s Sons (August 3, 2021)
Publication date‏:‎August 3, 2021
Language‏:‎English
File size‏:‎1834 KB
Text-to-Speech‏:‎Enabled
Enhanced typesetting‏:‎Enabled
X-Ray‏:‎Enabled
Word Wise‏:‎Enabled
Print length‏:‎351 pages
Lending‏:‎Not Enabled

Ad Amazon The Turnout


Amazon Ad: This site contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.


› Shop #FoundItOnAmazon - WOMEN'S FASHION

› Shop #FoundItOnAmazon - HOME DECOR


COMICS & TOYS
Find Comics, Graphic Novels and More at TFAW.com:
TFAW Exclusive Comic Variants and Items

All-Ages comics, graphic novels, and toys